Common Good International Film Festival Awards


Each year, the Common Good International Film Festival has audience members vote for their favorite feature film. In addition to the audience discussions following each film, a special jury (comprised of the Faith & Film Class which is held in conjunction with the Festival) deliberates to determine which film best meets the selection criteria

  1. The film shall exhibit artistic excellence in screenplay, music, and filming technique.
  2. The film shall promote the common good, which is defined as a society in which persons and communities care for one another’s well-being.
  3. The film shall exhibit sensitivity to the human situation, promoting the dignity of all.
  4. As appropriate to the film’s subject matter, the film shall foster ecological responsibility.
  5. The film shall cultivate a realistic hope of creative transformation.

Congratulations to our 2020 Award Winners!

previous arrow
next arrow

  • Whitehead Award for Best Feature Film
    • Binti (Belgium, Netherlands) Director Frederike Migom
  • Audience Award for Feature Film
  • Award for Best Short Film

Previous Award Winners

2019 Awards

  • Whitehead Award for Best Feature Film
    • Nosotros (Spain) Director Felipe Vara de Rey
  • Audience Award for Feature Film
  • Special Award for Artistic Excellence
    • Loving Vincent (Poland/United States) Directors Dorota Kobiela and Hugh Welchman
  • Special Award for Ecological Responsibility

2018 Awards

2017 Awards

  • Jury Award for  Whitehead Award for Outstanding AchievementVIVA (2015) Cuba,  Director Paddy Breathnach
  • Jury Award  Whitehead Award for Best Feature Film: VIVA (2015) Cuba,  Director Paddy Breathnach
  • Millennial Jury Award  Whitehead Award for Best Feature Film VIVA (2015) Cuba,  Director Paddy Breathnach
  • Audience Award VIVA (2015) Cuba,  Director Paddy Breathnach

2016 Awards

2015 Awards

2014 Awards

2013 Awards

  • Jury AwardYour Beauty is Worth Nothing (2012), Austria, Director Huseyin Tabak
  • Audience AwardDearest (2012), Japan. Director Yasuo Furuhata
  • Audience AwardAlmanya (2011), Germany. Director Yasemin Samdereli

2012 Awards

2011 Jury Award

2010 Jury Award

  • Departures (2008), Japan. Director Yojiro Takita

2009 Jury Award

2008 Jury Award

2007 Jury Award

  • Tsotsi (2005), UK/S. Africa. Director Gavin Hood

2006 Jury Award

2005 Jury Award

2004 Jury Awards

  • Best Feature Film: Gaz Bar Blues (2003), Canada. Director Louis Bélanger
  • Best Film Short: Aftershock (2003), France. Director Michael Bergmann